This guide will show you how to delete resources in your HCP account. After successful deletion, you will no longer be billed for the deleted resources.
- This action may only be performed by a user with the Owner role.
A common use case would be if you no longer need the resource and wish to delete and remove the resource from your account for technical reasons or for billing reasons. Another use case would be for those who want to close an account. Before an account can be closed, all resources including HVNs need to be deleted or removed from the account.
- Access the service where you want to delete the resources by using the left-hand navigation.
- Choose the cluster from the list of cluster IDs. In this example, chose the ID if the Vault cluster you wish to delete.
- In the cluster “Overview” page, locate the “Manage” button on the top right of the page. A drop-down menu should appear.
- Under “Edit Cluster” click on the “Delete Cluster” option.
- Type in “DELETE” or “Delete” depending on which prompt you receive. Please make sure to enter the phrase exactly as prompted as it is case sensitive.
- After typing in the prompt, click on the “Delete” button to begin deleting your resource.
NOTE: Deleting a resource may take some time. Please check your cluster lists periodically to make sure that the resource is deleted successfully. If the deletion seems to be stuck in the deleting phase, please reach out to HCP Support for assistance.